How to write out goals

Did you know the Bible tells us to write it down?

Habakkuk 2:2 instructs us to write it down and make it plain. Several times people have heard me refer to the story of “Alice In Wonderland.” Alice is on her way and she runs into the Cheshire cat who asks Alice “where are you going?” Alice replies she does not know. And the line the cat gives in response to her has such wisdom in it; “then how will you know when you get there?”If we do not have written goals then how will we know when we get there? Write it down and make it plain.

Have a plan. We have all heard the saying have a plan and work the plan. If you do not have a goal you have not counted the cost is what my Pastor says, and he is so right! To do anything worth while in life it takes discipline and sacrifice; and we must count the cost before we go off just doing. Without a written down plan we are just aimlessly wondering about.

Once as I sat in a leadership meeting at my church, my pastor was talking about goals. Then I heard the Holy Spirit reminding me how God has goals too. He had a goal when He sent His son to this earth. The goal for Jesus was to die on the cross and be the sacrificial Lamb once and for all for us; His blood was to bring to God the final sacrifice.

The Proverbs 31 Woman had goals; which is how she got so much accomplished for her family. During the meeting the Holy Spirit kept giving me the word “plan” and here is the acronym he gave me for “plan.”

Praising Him

Laying Before Him

Asking His Will

Now write it down and go!

As you seek Him and His will for your next season – He will instruct you. Then write it down and make it plain!

{Want more devotions? I’m A Sword Wielding Devil Slayer; Declaring the Word of God and Taking Back What the Devil Stole from Me!}

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “How to write out goals

  1. How to Get Started | Keys To Victorious Faith September 25, 2014 at 1:04 PM

    […] Do we really know what we want? In each area of our lives; spiritually, physically, financially, relationally – do we really really know? Today I am challenging myself and you to take some time and write down what we really want in each area of our lives. Writing it down is the first step! You can read more about writing it down here. […]

    Like

  2. […] Look closely at what you have already accomplished in each of the areas listed above. The real question becomes, how closely do your achievements align with your personal mission? Do you have a personal mission statement for yourself? If not this is a great time to pray about what God would have you write. Did you know the Bible instructs us to “write it down and make it plain!” […]

    Like

  3. Stephanie Arnel January 2, 2014 at 3:04 PM

    I’m writing it down & making it plain. I’ve got a plan!!! Thanks for being such a blessing in my life!!! : ) Grateful for you!!!

    Like

  4. Denise Bethea January 8, 2009 at 8:54 PM

    Sandra,

    Thank you for the acronym for PLAN. It’s a keeper in my book.

    Like

  5. Tirzah January 3, 2009 at 11:10 PM

    Hiya Sandra,

    Wow! What an acronym for PLAN. coincidentally, my latest post is quite similar.

    Wish you continued growth and success

    Like

  6. Melinda January 3, 2009 at 11:33 AM

    Great post! I’d never thought of goals in the context of Prov 31 and Jesus being sent to die! Thanks!

    And yes, I have my goals written down! 🙂

    Like

  7. Annie Wardrick January 3, 2009 at 7:36 AM

    Thanks for being a blessing, I’m writing it down & making it plain.

    Like

  8. Julie January 2, 2009 at 10:42 PM

    Wow thank you for that great encouragement!! I am off to get a new pen so I have a pen full of ink!! You are such a blessing! Thank you for sharing

    Blessings,
    Julie

    Like

Leave a Reply

