Can I Ever Be A Proverbs 31 Woman?

Can I Ever Be a Proverbs 31 Woman? Keys To Victorious Faith. Author Sandra Hersey

As my children have gotten older I find myself thinking about their spouses whom God has created and set apart for them to one day marry. I think about the wives my sons will one day take into their homes, and the wives my daughters will grow to become. Then I think about myself and I wonder about the kind of wife I have been all these years. I wonder if I have set a good enough example for my sons and daughters. I used to read about the Proverbs 31 woman and was intimidated by her. I never really liked the Mother’s Day messages that were presented on this absolutely astounding woman of God; which I could not seem to measure up to. I would wonder how any woman could live up to those standards. Even though I desired to be like her; I knew I never could be her. She appeared to be a superwoman of some type. She is considered the “ideal woman” and as I looked at myself I felt far from “ideal” so many days.

As I have grown and matured as a Christian I have come to look at the verses of Proverbs 31: 10-31 in a different light. I have come to learn how I am this woman mentioned in this oracle in so many ways; knowing that most women are this “ideal” woman.

King Lamuel’s mother is the one who is talking in Proverbs 31. In verse 1 she starts off by giving him instructions about his life. I love how even though he is King his mother is still giving him advice! And sound advice at that!

Though this Proverbs 31 woman is the “model” woman; you and I are like her as well. She is priceless. An “excellent wife,” verse 10 says, “who can find? Her worth is far above jewels.” I would dare say you and I are priceless and have worth far above jewels. Our Heavenly Father created us and placed us here on this earth for a plan and a purpose. There are no accidents. You and I are no accident. No matter how you arrived here, or who your parents are – you are here for a reason. God cared about you so much that He knew you before He placed you in your mother’s womb. (Jeremiah 1:5) He – God knew you! He placed you there and had plans for you! So you ARE priceless and have a worth far above jewels!

Verses 11 and 12 go on to describe this wife just like many women I know; as being trustworthy and kind.

Verses 13-19 then describe this woman in her role as a homemaker. These are the verses which used to really bother me – first as a woman and then as a wife and mother. However in these verses it is describing her personality and who she really is: she is a woman who works joyfully, who goes the extra mile to get the choicest goods or the best for herself, her home, and her family. She is disciplined, she is enterprising or prudent with money; in other words she looks at the money she has and she budgets it out to pay her bills, finding the best deals she can, being a good steward with her finances. She is energetic and she is diligent. How about you, does any of that describe you? I know it does, it describes me too!

This woman is compassionate and generous to her neighbors. And over her home she is prudent, elegant, influential, and industrious according to verses 20-24. Most women I have met care greatly about their homes and are kind to their neighbors. Taking pride in who they are and helping whenever help is needed. As a teacher she is both poised and wise in verses 25 & 26. This does not mean she is a teacher in another profession; she is a teacher right in her own surroundings; in her own home. I am forever teaching my children; always giving them life lessons. I know you do too!

Even if you are not a mother or a wife you are still this woman. You care about your home, your neighbors, and you are a teacher to those in your circle of influence.

She manages her home, she is praise worthy and distinguished, and as a person she is God-fearing and honored! Ladies this is a description of you and I. We are those things. We may not be perfect; no one but Jesus was or will ever be perfect. We strive to be like him whenever we are acting on those characteristics listed in Proverbs 31: 10-31. We are the kind of women who when we open our mouths- we speak wisdom, we stretch out our hands to the needy, and we are excellent and our worth is far more than rubies or jewels!

We were fearlessly and wonderfully made by our Heavenly Father. He makes all things beautiful and wonderful. Therefore, you and I have the characteristics of this Proverbs 31 woman. We are of virtue, faithful, reverent, good, a willing worker, strong, we endure and are well-rounded. We are charitable and provide for ourselves and those we love. We are honorable, wise, and kind and most importantly we fear the Lord!

So rejoice my friend, you ARE a Proverbs 31 Women and so am I!

{Want more devotions? I’m A Sword Wielding Devil Slayer; Declaring the Word of God and Taking Back What the Devil Stole from Me!}

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Can I Ever Be A Proverbs 31 Woman?

  1. […] Sandra Hersey posted a noteworthy aricle today onHere’s a small snippet […]

    Like

  2. Terry February 23, 2009 at 8:11 PM

    That was a wonderful musing. I love the depth and it does make me want to strive even more to be a better wife, mother and (now) grandmother in the eyes of God.

    Like

  3. […] Sandra Hersey added an interesting post on Can I Ever Be â […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

