Mother May I

Mother May I? Giving us permission as women of God. Keys to victorious faith. Inspirational BlogThe other day I was thinking back to when I was a young girl and used to love to play games with my siblings and my cousins next door. We would head outside after breakfast and stay outside until dinner; never once wanting to go inside. If there is one thing children know how to do; they know how to have fun. Even as an adult when I pass a park I always watch what the children are doing; they are always having tons of fun as they run, jump, and skip all over the park. The problem with us as adults is that we have lost that childlike enthusiasm and exuberance to be happy and excited about simple things in life. But we can still have that excitement in our lives; we just need to know it is perfectly okay to do so.

If I were to ask people what they think life is about most would say it is about being happy and being fulfilled. We can start living the lives we have always dreamed about but we must first believe we deserve it; especially as women. As women we are always there to help others, do for others, and put others before ourselves. We do not always feel as a mom that we should go before our children, or as a co-worker that we should outrank someone else. Women’s nature is to nurture; that is why we do not feel we deserve to be put first. Far too many of us have far too little fun; work, family, church, school, etc seem to take up most of our days.

We need to find the courage and give ourselves permission to live the life we have always dreamed about. Remember when we used to play the game “Mother May I?” To play the game we had to ask permission before we could take the next step. Our life is still like that now; we need to ask “mother may I” and then step out into our lives!

We need to once again find the magic that once made our life very special as children. These extraordinary feelings are still hidden inside of us; we simply need to unleash them once again. We need to find our unique place in life; that distinctive niche that enables us to be our best and do our best. When we begin passionately pursuing those activities that we love to do, we will find our special niche waiting for us.

There are plenty of good times and good things waiting to happen for us, we just need to open up and let them happen. Once we find all of the fun, happiness and excitement life has to offer, we need to make certain that we keep these magical moments close to our heart. Wherever and whenever we find something worth keeping, we need to grab it with every ounce of strength we can muster and then hold on tight and never let it go.

We will uncover new opportunities, discover new horizons, and have more fun than we ever imagined was possible when we play a little game of “Mother May I” every day for the rest of your lives.

{Want more devotions? I’m A Sword Wielding Devil Slayer; Declaring the Word of God and Taking Back What the Devil Stole from Me!}

Tagged: , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Mother May I

  1. Susan Storm Smith September 25, 2014 at 11:13 AM

    Oh great posting! Yes, one of the greatest gifts I had ever been given is the knowledge of a permission slip to overcome my own sabotage to a great life.

    Like

  2. Tishia Lee September 17, 2014 at 6:23 PM

    Great post but definitely a reminder that I have let the simple things in life that used to give me such great pleasure slip through my fingers. It also made me stop and think about how sad it is that when my son wants me to do this or that (usually go outside with him) I don’t do it. So now is the time to change things and start enjoying those simple things in life again and giving myself permission to ‘play’ and enjoy silly time with my son outside.

    Like

  3. sheriyates March 18, 2014 at 4:56 AM

    Very sweet post. I found you on the soarbeyond blogspot. Nice to meet you. Love this sweet blog.

    Like

  4. Beth@sportsmomma March 17, 2014 at 11:18 AM

    Makes me think abot this quote-“I was not called to an easy life. ” I was called to a purposeful life.””-from Beth Moore’s Esther Study!

    I want my life to be purposeful-thanks for reminding me to strive to make it that way!

    Like

  5. […] Sylvia Hubbard posted a noteworthy aricle today onHere’s a small snippetWe need to find our unique place in life; that distinctive niche that enables us to be our best and do our best. When we begin passionately pursuing those activities that we love to do, we will find our special niche waiting for us. … Top Christian Websites. DISCLAIMER: All writings on this blog are original unless otherwise noted. Most are from copyrighted books written by me. Please do not copy or use without written permission from me. Thank you so much, Sandra … […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

