I Have No Rights; It Is Not About Me!

Philippians 1:12-14

So many times we always feel as if we have rights. We scream out when we do not think things in life are going our way. We look around and wonder why God; why is this happening to me?

I heard a friend tell me just the other day some words that stung my soul. She said “I have no rights, it’s not about me!” As I gasped, ready to retaliate with all my “children of God” “seed of Abraham” scriptures, then the Holy Spirit confirmed in me these words are indeed true; I have no rights. I was not to think anything that happens is about me. When I am ministering and no one seems to be getting it, and I want to say God why, I am reminded – I have no rights, it is not about how I am ministering, it is about Jesus, not about me. When I work and work with what seems like no appreciation, the Holy Spirit gently reminds me – I have no rights, it is not about me.

We always seem to feel as if we are entitled. We want others to notice and acknowledge what we have done. This started as young children when we would yell “Daddy look, watch me!” and we do our best performance so he will be proud of what he has just seen. And as all parents do, our father would smile his biggest smile, applaud loudly, and tell us how wonderful we did and how great we are. That is how it is with us even now; with others and with our Heavenly Father. We want others to see what we have done; to see the hard work we have done, to be proud of our accomplishments. The problem is, all of us are like the little child yelling “Daddy look, watch me” and no one is looking and acknowledging, because we are all doing our own little performances. But someone is watching; our Heavenly Father is watching. He sees each of us and He looks on with admiration both at us and our accomplishments. Our reward is to know that our accomplishments are about Him. They are to lead others to Him and tell others about His wonderful grace and mercy.

As I was reading in the Word of God I came upon some definitions of spiritual maturity I want to share with you today. A mature choice would be teaching others rather than just being taught. We are to develop a depth of understanding rather than struggling with the basics. We should be doing self-evaluation rather than self-criticism. As a mature Christian we are to be seeking unity rather than promoting disunity. Carefully studying and observing rather than desiring entertainment. We should be walking in confidence rather than walking in fear. And one that really relates to us not having rights; rather than evaluating our experiences according to our feelings (why is this happening to me, why am I not being appreciated, etc) we should evaluate our feelings in the light of God’s Word.

One way to evaluate spiritual maturity is by looking at the choices we make; seeing if we are pointing all we do towards Jesus. Knowing that none of this is about us, it is ALL about Him. Here is a question I have started to ask myself: What am I feeling upset or daunted by right now; if I try looking at it from the stand point of “this is not about me” I am able to have a different prospective on it. Knowing I have no rights; it is NOT about me, it is about my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ!

Copyrighted excerpt from my book The Drying Pot

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “I Have No Rights; It Is Not About Me!

  1. […] Mike Hassard – Kelowna posted a noteworthy aricle today onHere’s a small snippetWe scream out when we do not think things in life are going our way. We look around and wonder why God; why is this happening to me? I heard a friend tell me just the other day some words that stung my soul. She […] […]

    Like

  2. […] UK Journey of the Christian Faith posted a noteworthy aricle today onHere’s a small snippetAs a mature Christian we are to be seeking unity rather than promoting disunity. Carefully studying and observing rather than desiring entertainment. We should be walking in confidence rather than walking in fear. … […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

