My Past Does Not Determine My Future!

My Past Does Not Determine My Future! Keys to Victorious Faith.

So many times I hear people tell me they cannot be used by God because of their past. I too did not believe that I could come to a holy God and He would want to use me. I wished I could somehow forget all of the sinful failures of my past and somehow focus on my future. However the good news for you and I is that our past was just a set up for our future!

The apostle Paul’s past was filled with hatred for Christians; he had a persecution campaign against anyone who believed in Christ. He went everywhere to destroy the church, even dragging men and women out of their homes to throw them into prison. However, on the road to Damascus Paul set out to capture Christians but was captured by Christ, who used him greatly for His service – in spite of Paul’s past! Until Paul’s conversion little had been done to carry the Gospel to the Non-Jews and Paul went on to write 2/3 of the New Testament! God chose to use Paul in spite of his past!

Peter was chosen by Jesus to follow Him even though Peter was far from the model character for such a job. Jesus accepted Peter in spite of his failures. Peter often spoke without thinking first, he was very often brash and impulsive. Peter even went on to deny Christ, his beloved friend, not once, not twice, but three times during Jesus’ trial! Even later Peter found it hard to treat the Gentile Christians as equals. However, in Acts 5:15 we read where as Peter walked by those who were sick, his shadow fell on them and they were healed! Obviously God had no problem with using Peter in spite of his past!

That is why Jesus came; His blood has washed away the guilt of our past. That means you and I can truly forget what is behind us. And that same blood has secured our present and our future. That means that we can now focus on the pure joy of living for Him.

After all, the past does not determine our future. Jesus does!

{Want more devotions? I’m A Sword Wielding Devil Slayer; Declaring the Word of God and Taking Back What the Devil Stole from Me!}

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “My Past Does Not Determine My Future!

  1. teaspoontimes April 2, 2009 at 10:07 PM

    That’s exactly right. Don’t let the past determine your future. We have so much power within us to change our circumstances. The media, I’ve noticed, tend to make people think they are helpless during a recession, and have no choice but to downsize. If only everybody knew the truth!

    Like

  2. Tyola April 2, 2009 at 3:09 PM

    I love this article….thank you for sharing.I so needed to hear this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

