You Have Power And It Is In Your Tongue!

You Have Power And It Is In Your Tongue!

Proverbs 12:18 instructs us that “Reckless words pierce like a sword, but the tongue of the wise brings healing.” When I first became a Christian I started to understand how much I needed to control my tongue. I was the kind of person who said what is on their mind, especially when I would see wrong being done. Whenever I was in a conflict with someone I would always feel bad after I told them what I thought, even though I did not mean to hurt them. One of the first books which helped me in this area was “Me and My Big Mouth” by Joyce Meyer. It is easy to let an unintended word or comment roll off the tongue. However, what I had to learn, was even though I did not mean to harm them and was “only trying to help” and bring “constructive criticism” (so I thought) those words were destructive to the hearer.

I find that gathering with others and partaking in gossip is a place where wildfires start. Even when we take part in jokes, insults, or even snide comments, we are in danger of being pulled into a place of recklessness and this can be destructive to the work God wants to do through us.

Anyone who has been around me for even a little while learns quickly how important I believe the power of the tongue is. Proverbs 18:21 says “Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.“ This tells us our words can do a lot of damage (even unto death!) or they can also do a lot of good. And looking back at Proverbs 12:18 we see that wise words have the ability to heal. When we are in conversations with people we have the opportunity to speak life or death, bring healing or pierce like a sword! Wow what power we have in our own little tongue!

We must understand we are to control our tongues and speak life and healing into our lives and into the lives of those around us. I have often thought, what if our life was like a movie where whatever we said came to pass immediately! Would we watch the words we allowed to come forth out of our mouths! Would we be more careful at what we confessed over our child when they made us angry? Would we stop allowing words of death, lack, and dying to come across our tongue?

Today as you and I go about I have a challenge for us. We are to speak as if everything we say will come to pass immediately, no matter who it is said about and no matter what is said. Let’s take notice of the words we allow to come forth. Even those small sayings that seem to mean nothing, let’s only speak life and healing today! You have power and it is in your tongue!

{What you say matters! Learn more about how important you tongue is in my book Help! I’m Along With My Mind!}

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “You Have Power And It Is In Your Tongue!

  1. Lynn Cooke May 26, 2009 at 6:34 PM

    Hi friend,

    Thanks for sharing that with us! We love your
    site!! Amen & amen! 🙂

    •´.¸¸.•¨¯`♥.Visit Us Soon!.♥´¯¨•.¸¸.´•

    Like

Leave a Reply

