Should Christians Set Goals and Resolutions?

Should Christians set goals and resolutions?

Several things ring true this time of the year: people are thinking about new beginnings and making New Year’s Resolutions and the weight loss ads seem to multiply on TV! Many of us fall into this trap year after year, but how many of us actually get beyond January 31st?

So why don’t we keep those lists we make? What it really boils down to, is most of us are not serious enough to change the life we have. We get caught up in the moment and simply think we will do it this time. I believe each of us truly has the desire to change but how is the question? How do we change? And is God motivated by our resolutions and goals?

One great thing in our lives is God never changes. “For I am the Lord, I do not change.” (Malachi 3:6). We take comfort in knowing “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today and forever.” (Hebrews 12:8). Even though God does not change it is vital that we DO change. We must change. And we must come to realize setting goals is not about what we want to do, but what God wants to do through us!

Our goals need to reflect Him in our lives no matter what they are. If we want to lose weight or kick a bad habit we can stand on Romans 12:1 “…to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God…” And in every area of our life we are to be about His Kingdom and significantly change our own little world by setting goals which agree with God’s. “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.” (Matt. 6:33)

I for one want each year to be a year filled with milestones and accomplishments for Him and His Kingdom. Not another year of “I should have, I could have, or I would have if only!” I am encouraging each of us to make our year to be more about Kingdom exploits (Daniel 11:32) by setting goals God would have us set. We need to take the time to sit with Him and ask Him what He wants for the upcoming year. What can we do to increase His Kingdom? What can we do for Him? What goals do we set for each area of our life spiritually, physically, mentally, socially, and financially?

Why not take each area listed above and sit down with Him and ask Him what two things does He want you to work on and change this year.

Remember to make your goals S.M.A.R.T.Specific (not just lose weight but instead lose 35 pounds by such-n-such a date); Measurable (Can you tangibly show you met the goal?); Attainable (Do not reach too high, but don’t reach to low either); Realistic (“never buy shoes again this year.” – better to say I will only buy 1 new pair of shoes every other month (obviously this is for me not you); and Timely (set a date — not too close and not too far away).

Then place them in your Bible to look at each day when you have your quiet time with Him and make this faith declaration with me:
“I stand in agreement with God’s Word that says He wants to give me a future and a hope. I offer these goals and plans to you Father. I know Jesus I can do all things through you who gives me the strength. Help me Holy Spirit as I challenge myself to see exploits done for the Father’s Kingdom through my life. Lead me as I set these goals and help me to stand on Matthew 6:33 and make your Kingdom first in my life and Romans 12:1 as I crucify my flesh and bring it into submission. I praise you and thank you now that it is done in Jesus Name!

{Want more devotions? I’m A Sword Wielding Devil Slayer; Declaring the Word of God and Taking Back What the Devil Stole from Me!}

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Should Christians Set Goals and Resolutions?

  1. […] are we to make New Year’s Resolutions? I asked this question before, you can read it here. But today we are going to talk about New Year’s Resolutions we need to […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

