Who Am I Affecting?

Keys to victorious faith inspirational blogLast year the Holy Spirit seemed to convict me about truly walking in love, and this year I keep feeling His gentle nudge leading me to watch what I say and how I say it. Maybe you are like me and you get troubled by things you have said to people – usually justifying it by what people have already said or done to you. However the Word of God tells us over and over our words can be supportive or critical. You and I both know Proverbs 18:21 instructs us emphatically – “Death and life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.” But listen to what Matthew Henry’s Concise Commentary on the Bible says “Many a one has caused his own death, or the death of others, by a false or injurious tongue.” Do we really understand the power which is held in such a small organ? Our tongues can be injurious; hurting someone (even ourselves) even to the point of death!

When we speak out words in a way in which we know to be wrong, both the person we spoke to and ourselves will pay with our emotions. We have opened the door to the enemy to come in and he begins to chip away at our thoughts until he has consumed us, overtaken us, and he will not stop until he destroys us! We then make the choice to either build a bridge or leave the vast emptiness of an ocean between the parties involved. Death CAN be physical death (when we confess sickness and disease over ourselves instead of the truth of the Word); however death is also the tearing down of a relationship to the point of its death.

Philippians 2:2-4 tells us to:

2 Fill up and complete my joy by living in harmony… 3Do nothing from factional motives [through contentiousness, strife, selfishness, or for unworthy ends] or prompted by conceit and empty arrogance. Instead, in the true spirit of humility (lowliness of mind) let each regard the others as better than and superior to himself [thinking more highly of one another than you do of yourselves]. 4Let each of you esteem and look upon and be concerned for not [merely] his own interests, but also each for the interests of others.”

When we allow ourselves to become consumed with the negative qualities of anyone or what they have spoken to us, we then begin to lose sight of the good things. The Creator of the universe sent His only son to lay down His life for you and me. He has chosen to give us His Spirit and to make our burdens light; not difficult or hard. Therefore, He has given us the ability to honor Him in all that we do and in all that we say.

The flip side is there is LIFE in the power of the tongue! WE can choose; death or life. We can choose just as we chose Jesus to become our Lord and Savior; we can choose to speak out life. We can choose to not be offended when someone else has spoken out of their hurts or misunderstandings. We can choose life over death every time! It is our choice!

Lets take the step together: If you are presently holding onto a heavy burden then right now open your heart to Jesus and allow Him to fill you with HIS joy, HIS peace, HIS love, HIS kindness, HIS gentleness. Not yours but HIS! Take a moment to pray this prayer: “Lord, help me to be conscious that you are concerned with the way I interact with people and situations in my life. Help me to be more aware Holy Spirit of my response to what others say to me. This day I choose to commit what I say and how I say it – to you.  I put my eyes on you and ask you Holy Spirit to help me. I cast off the spirit of offense; I refuse to be offended by what others say. In Jesus Name I pray. Amen.

{Want more devotions? I’m A Sword Wielding Devil Slayer; Declaring the Word of God and Taking Back What the Devil Stole from Me!}

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

