How To Trust God When Your World Is Falling Apart

How to trust God when your world is falling apart. Sandra Hersey Ministries “It is a poor faith which can only trust God when friends are true, the body full of health, and the business profitable; but that is true faith which holds by the Lord’s faithfulness when friends are gone, when the body is sick, when spirits are depressed, and the light of our Father’s countenance is hidden.” These words spoken by Charles Spurgeon are true, yet they sting. It is easy to ask God to do for us and bless us. We certainly do not like to think we have poor faith; at least I do not.

I know walking in times of trouble are hard and it is easy to fall into the “Why me God, and where are you God?!” moments. If it makes you feel any better our Lord and Savior Jesus, in his agony on the cross chose to quote Psalm 22, “My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?” When in fact He could have quoted the 23rd Psalm, “Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil.”

Yet my friend, our promise from God is not freedom from pain, but companionship from our Lord and Savior; “Lo, I am with you always to the close of the age!” When our world falls apart, the great good news is we are not alone; Jesus IS with us!

I once heard a sermon that was prompted by a great skyscraper about to rise up into the heavens. The preacher continued to say over and over in his sermon, “the higher you want to rise the deeper you have to dig your foundation.” So if you want a 50-story skyscraper that’s one thing; but if you want to soar 100 stories, then the foundation has to be deeper, much much deeper.

It’s the same with our faith – the higher we want our faith to be, the deeper we must dig our foundation of faith. But how? Through His Word and prayer! Two very simple things, yet we do not always do it.

According to the Bible, the power of prayer is the power of God who hears and answers our prayer. We must remember in the tough times:

~ God Almighty can do all things; there is nothing impossible for Him {Luke 1:37}.

~ God Almighty hears the prayers of His children. He commands us to pray, and He promises to listen when we do. “In my distress I called to the LORD; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears” {Psalm 18:6}.

~ God Almighty answers prayer. “I call on you, O God, for you will answer me” {Psalm 17:6}. “The righteous cry out, and the LORD hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles” {Psalm 34:17}.

~ God Almighty invites His people to pray to Him. Prayer to God should be made persistently {Luke 18:1}, with thanksgiving {Philippians 4:6}, in faith {Mark 11:23}, within the will of God {Matthew 6:10}, for the glory of God {John 14:13-14}, and from a heart trusting in God {Proverbs 3:5-6}.

When your world is falling apart, after you stop weeping, dig deep; make those foundations deeper, stronger, and unshakable through prayer and His Word. Trust God and wait for Him to move; because He will! Getting knocked down is not the worst thing that can happen to you; refusing to trust God and not getting back up is!

{Know someone who is facing hard times? The Drying Pot; And The Refining Fires Necessary To Become A Vessel Used By God}

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,