What is God’s Will for Me?

What is God's will for me?What is God’s will for my life? It is a question I have asked myself and I am sure you have asked yourself the same. For me, if I am not careful it can become an obsession; the very weight of it and all the question marks can become overwhelming. But why? I guess because I, like you, want to make sure I am in His Will and my Father in Heaven is pleased with me. I do want to hear “Well done thy good and faithful servant” one day!

As I seek Him I have come to a new revelation which has helped set me free – God’s will is not a problem for ME to solve! Now before the lynch mob appears let’s look at the one place where all answers are found – The Bible.

The Word of God tells us plainly that His grace does not depend on our performance. We can do nothing to earn his grace; it is done for us. “For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, so that no one may boast” {Ephesians 2: 8-9}

And even though we tend to want to figure out exactly what God wants us to do in that moment, God’s Word says His faithfulness does not depend on what we know; our wisdom does not count here, it is His faithfulness that counts. “The LORD’S loving kindnesses indeed never cease, For His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness. “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I have hope in Him.” {Lamentations 3:22-24}

Our promise from God is that no matter how our life looks His steadfastness and goodness trumps whatever is going on! No matter what it looks like; His love for you and I endures FOREVER towards us!! {Rest in Psalm 136 for a moment}

We tend to get caught up in what is going on; and I know things get messy and get scary and get hard. Trust me I KNOW! Yet, His love towards you and I endures. And because His love endures and because His grace does not depend on our performance, and because His faithfulness to help us does not depend on what we know – we can rest in this: His will is not so much a path we are to walk on as it is a way of walking. How we walk with Him matters. So how are we to walk out our daily messy lives you ask? Simple; We are to “Rejoice always, pray without ceasing. Give thanks in all circumstances. This is God’s will for us in Christ Jesus.” {1 Thessalonians 5: 16-18}

That’s it! We can rest assured that when we continue to pray and give thanks, even in the hard stuff, we are in His Will. Praying though a hard situation sounds something like, “God I trust you, I do not necessarily  understand, but I trust you. Help me to stand even when I feel I have stood  a long time. I love you Father and I simply trust you in this.”

Now you can rest in knowing you are in His Will. Continue to declare His goodness: even when it does not look too good on the outside. Remember, even diamonds got off to a rough start, then a ton of pressure had to be applied to make a beautiful stone. Pressure is not fun I know – but the reward is. And I know this; God rewards trust {Check out these scriptures on trusting God}. Now rest in knowing that as you trust Him you are in His will!

[Read more on trusting God in tough times]

{Want more devotions? I’m A Sword Wielding Devil Slayer; Declaring the Word of God and Taking Back What the Devil Stole from Me!}

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “What is God’s Will for Me?

  1. Nkwateleng Mohau February 10, 2016 at 10:44 AM

    Thank you so much Sandra. I needed to hear this now. Thank you and God Bless you continually.

    Like

Leave a Reply

